Tips for new bloggers

Some one would say, I’m hardy the one to write on this topic, considering that this blog, The Mid-Atlantic Field Guide, has only been in existence for less than 24 hours, but to them I say that this is not my first and only experiment in the blogosphere.

In fact, The Mid-Atlantic Field Guide is a secondary blog for me, just one of several that I now run. And while none of my blogs area setting the blogosphere afar as we say,  at least one gets some attention due to events currently unfolding in the entrainment industry.

Avoiding Pitfalls

I’m not going to waste time rehashing information you can find in other places provided by people far more knowledgeable than I. Rather than travel that shopworn road, I’m going to offer up something unique and tell you why “success” is not always good.

I starting blogging, like most, in all innocence thinking that a high traffic rate is the goal and the goal is “good”. Friends, workmates, family, neighbors, I proudly pointed them all to my brand new blog.

I linked to social media like Facebook, YouTube, Flickr. Spread my URL throughout the Internet via comment boxes on uncounted websites and other people’s blogs. In fact, I spent so much time “spreading the word” that I neglected my content, going weeks between a post.

It took some time, but the effort, by my modest standards, proved  successful. I didn’t pick up many readers, but I picked up “enough”. I even scored a coup or two by being sourced in the local media.

But I soon found in that success (small as it might be), there was a trap. I had started the blog as a place to “sound off”, to visit the areas that concerns for the reactions and feelings  of family and friends and co-workers otherwise prevented me from exploring.

But I quickly discovered that when the potential for these same people to be reading your blog, “sounding off” quickly fell by the wayside and the self-censorship was, if anything, more of a trap than it is in the  face to face engagements.

This was brought home in spades when I linked my primary blog to Facebook, where most of my “friends” are based on common interest in one area and not people I really know. I soon discovered that Facebook is like a roach motel, once you check in, you cannot check out. Once linked, you’re screwed forever.

Coming up, why one blog is only enough for the tender minded.

This entry was posted in How to do it and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

